Create Your Own Spa Meditation

Over this past month, I have had several inquiries about my personal meditation practice. I should start by clarifying that I do not sit indian style on a fancy pillow chanting “om.” I use meditation in a way that allows me to do it daily and passionately without feeling bogged down by a chore. Chore = snore.

How do I do this, you ask?

Below are my tips on how I turn my meditations into my own luxorious abyss that resembles what I like to call – “a spa meditation.”

Spa Meditation Guidelines:

1. Use headphones. Preferably ones that allow you to lay on your back comfortably without noticing they are in your ears.

I prefer the Bose Quiet Comfort Noise Cancelling Headphones. 

2. Use a guided meditation that is conducted by a voice that puts you at ease & simultaneously includes soothing background music such as theta brain waves, subtle nature sounds, or tibetan bell chimes.

I realized the value of a good guided meditation when I was reading the 40 Day May Cause Miracles book by Gabby Bernstein. I tried to perform each day’s tasks as they were listed in hopes of getting the most out of Gabby’s 40 day process. Doing so involved activities such as journaling & listening to meditations guided by Gabby Bernstein. The journaling was an effective tool for me, but her meditations were the opposite of effective. Personally, something about her voice and the eerie lack of background music did not relax me. As a result, I got into the habit of thinking I was never going to master the coveted skill of meditation until I found (drumroll please) my beloved Chopra Center Guided Meditations. These meditations are as relaxing as a full day at the spa.

The cherry on top? They are short & sweet and embedded with powerful messages.

3. Remember that you can either sit indian style with your spine erect and neck straight or you can lay on your back. If you choose to lay on your back, it is important to keep your neck straight so that the energy of your chakras and meridians may flow freely. Try to avoid using a pillow under your head.

I choose to lay on my back because this position allows me to breathe deeply and get into my spa meditation groove faster than sitting indian style. 

4. Purchase a few of my favorite Spa Meditation accessories

– A Sleep Mask

– Young Living Essential Oil: Peace & Calm (place it on your third eye or into a diffuser)

– A Salt Lamp for soothing light

5. Last but not least, pick an easy, doable time to meditate and stick to it.

I meditate before I get out of bed in the morning, before I fall asleep at night, and sometimes on my lunch break if I need an extra dose of positivity. If you are doing meditation in a way that works best for you, I promise you will become addicted to the change in lifestyle & the better sleep you will experience.

Leave a Reply

